JAPAN


LAND OF THE RISING SUN


Before reading my blog, check out my Japan vlog (watch in HD):


SHINJUKU, TOKYO


At around 8:30pm, we landed in Shinjuku, Tokyo where our hotel was. We had to eat dinner so we found this cute restaurant. They had small servings but we didn’t really mind because we were STARVING. I’d give this place a 2.7/5. Plus, I don’t like Japan’s orange juice huhu.

IMG_0973

IMG_0978
Midnight snacks we bought in Lawson because our dinner wasn’t enough.
IMG_0979
Can I just say how good this strawberry yogurt is. Lawson for the win.
IMG_0983
Really impressed with the discipline of Japanese people. They won’t even dare cross the street on red light even if there are no cars.

IMG_0991

IMG_1154
Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building. The overview of Tokyo’s city lights. I live for these shots!
IMG_1175
My aunt who lives in Japan told us that this yellow lane is designed for blind people. Amazing. 😦

SENSO-JI TEMPLE, ASAKUSA, TOKYO


IMG_1004IMG_1008

IMG_8876

So my brother & I tried this thing that’s supposed to read your future for 100 yen (I don’t know what it’s called because it’s written in Japanese characters :().

Mechanics: Shake the metal container and take out one stick from inside. At the end of the stick, written are Japanese symbols. Look for the corresponding drawers that have the same symbols written on the stick. Then, whatever is written on the paper inside the drawer will tell you your ~future~.

IMG_8879

IMG_1027
Any Japanese readers? What does this say? Though it says regular fortune at the back so I guess I’m safe lol.
IMG_1028
I’m not quite sure if you have to tie your paper even if you get a good read or if it’s only for those who get unlucky readings.
IMG_1034
This looked pretty so I had to take a picture but I don’t know what it means. 😦

IMG_1037

IMG_1044
TOKYO STATION. HOW. IS. THIS. SO. BEAUTIFUL.

IMG_1059


MEIJI SHRINE, SHIBUYA, TOKYO


IMG_1065

IMG_1074
I am in love with the sake barrels.

IMG_1080IMG_1085

IMG_1090
This is called the Temizu ritual. Before entering any shrine you have to go to the Temizuya for purification purposes. Rinse your hands and mouth and you’re good to go.

IMG_1091IMG_1103


SHIBUYA, TOKYO


IMG_1124

The ever-so-busy-and-famous SHIBUYA CROSSING. One of my most missed places in Japan. I just miss how it’s always alive and bustling.

IMG_1126
Hachiko statue in Hachiko station.
IMG_1137
Crossing the Shibuya crossing omygad.

IMG_1142


DOTONBORI, OSAKA


 

IMG_1233
They say you haven’t been to Osaka if you didn’t take a picture with the Glicoman.
IMG_1242
Hidden restaurant.

IMG_1244

IMG_1252
GLICOMAN AT NIGHT YO.

IMG_1252
GLICOMAN AT NIGHT YO.

IMG_1447

IMG_1460
Had to take a picture of this train because of its pleasing combination of colors. 😦
img_1258.jpg
I’m so in love with our hotel (Dormy Inn Premium). They give free ramen everyday from 9pm-11pm with free hot choco/coffee. 😦 ❤

AMERICA-MURA


We weren’t able to explore the place though, we just went to this place all of a sudden because our taxi driver dropped us here out of nowhere…without having to pay for our ride just because he accidentally bumped into and injured a pedestrian…amazing.

IMG_1537

IMG_1550
I am going to miss Japan’s ever-so-present-everywhere-you-go vending machine. I don’t like Japan’s iced tea/orange juice so I guess this was the best drink I had during my stay HAHAHA.

SHITENNOJI TEMPLE, OSAKA


IMG_1470

IMG_1473
A kind old lady gave this to me so I could try one of their temple rituals.

OSAKA CASTLE


 

IMG_1489
The train to the Osaka Castle. It’s a 10-15 minute walk to the castle so if I were you, take the train instead. :–)

IMG_1504

IMG_1516IMG_1523IMG_1525

 

 


KINKAKU-JI TEMPLE, KYOTO


 

IMG_1273
THE GOLDEN PAVILION. One of the best temples I’ve seen!

IMG_1281

IMG_1288
Overheard: This is where tea ceremonials take place.

IMG_1289


NIJO CASTLE, KYOTO


IMG_1302

IMG_1311
Kyoto station!

FUSHIMI INARI-TAISHA SHRINE, KYOTO


IMG_1321IMG_1327IMG_1328IMG_1338


NARA


IMG_1350

IMG_1372


 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1564

On our last day in Japan (Osaka), I went to an indoor onsen in our hotel (exclusive only for those who stayed in the hotel and there were separate onsens for men and women). I hated myself for not going there everyday during our stay. Rules are, you have to take a bath before and after going to the onsen. I would really recommend Dormy Inn Premium’s amenities.

I’m going to miss Japan’s amusing & really clean lavatories, especially their toilet functions. HUHU.

10/10 would definitely go back to Japan! I have yet to explore the other cities/provinces. We never encountered a snobbish Japanese. All of them were downright approachable. Even if they couldn’t speak fluent English, they try their best to converse by getting their message across and listening to what we’re trying to say.

Leave a Reply

